Neglect

As one might expect, I have neglected this blog for a short while in favor of enjoying my time here, partially in the hopes that I might have something of substance to write about. Rather than write a great deal, however, I have several photos to share that document my experience.

Together, Rami and I have been exploring Lappeenranta and all its beauty and coolness for the past while. Though I can’t remember on exactly which day, we went for a second walk around Lake Saimaa, and ventured into the fortress area.

Here’s a photo of the lake from one of the benches that dot its edges. This picture was taken around 8 pm, and I’m still continually surprised and pleased at how it never truly seems to get dark.

This is a picture of the late evening light in the lovely fortress area. This place houses a few old buildings, and

Cafe Majurska. Rami and I “discovered” this place during my trip in January, when we stopped in to warm ourselves with some tea. When we want a hot drink, or perhaps a piece of cake or pie, Majurska does the trick.

Speaking of cafes, Cafe Galleria is also quite nice. The other day, this place provided us with a soft, mild, sweet piece of cheese cake with a tart raspberry sauce.

Come to think of it, (well, really, I’ve often thought of it, since gaining weight is a nagging concern of mine) many of my experiences have revolved around food and all the enjoyment it yields. I think I’ll dedicate an entire entry to all the excellent and (for an American) unusual food I’ve had here.

For now, though, I’ll conclude this entry with a few more photos from the lovely Lake Saimaa. It has been a little cold here this week, so we haven’t had an opportunity to swim, but I was able to give my toes a refreshing dip.

While my feet were dangling, I took a few photos of the evening sky against the water.

I greatly look forward to swimming in that clear, cold water (clear, that is, when it isn’t stained with streaks of yellow pollen).

In other news, I got that 4.0 that I so desperately desired. My overall GPA is now a 3.92, and my hope is that I’ll continue to raise it by little bits in my last year of undergrad. University of Helsinki? Maybe…

About ellucake

I'm an American woman in my mid-twenties spending two months in Finland. This blog will chronicle my trip.
This entry was posted in Finnish Culture, Food, Lappeenranta, Relationships, School. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment