Hyvää Juhannusta

As a follow up to my previous Juhannus post, I thought I’d share some of the pictures Rami and I took of the bonfire here in Lappeenranta.

Here are the hordes walking towards the water for a glimpse of the bonfire. Rami made a Wicker Man reference, but I can assure you that he meant it affectionately.

Here’s a picture of the smoke curling around the 9 pm sun, obscured by some cloud cover, as the fire gets going. I think it was at this point that the applause began.

And here’s a shot that Rami took of the thing raging. The crowds that surrounded the lake reminded me of those at the Lime Rock Park fireworks displays on the Fourth of July. The bonfire, however, had comparatively little visual excitement, and it occurred to me just how much more sensory stimulation we demand in the United States. Seeing swarms of children at the event – all dipping their toes in the water and waiting anxiously for the fire to be lit – made me think of how much I’d have loved Juhannus bonfires on lake Saimaa if I had been born a Finnish child.

Afterwards, we quenched our thirst with a cider at one of the terraces on the lake. It was packed, as one might expect, with drunk people letting loose in a way that the winter might never allow. I ended up with as many bug bites on my feet as I’ve ever had in my life, and we went back home for a snack of tomato, lettuce, and brie sandwiches. It was a very hyvää Juhannus.

About ellucake

I'm an American woman in my mid-twenties spending two months in Finland. This blog will chronicle my trip.
This entry was posted in Finnish Culture, Home, Lappeenranta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment