Arrival!

I didn’t bother to write about the strife and heartache I had to endure regarding my medication. Let us just say that it was not as easy as had been promised, and it nearly made my heart stop with worry on several occasions. Fortunately, everything came together at the last minute, and I have now arrived safely in Lappeenranta.

All of the trouble was worth it simply for the events of yesterday. The flight was long, as was the drive from Helsinki to Lappeenranta, but we cooked chicken and rice, ate karjalanpiirakka, and walked around the lake in the warm sunshine (which, by the way, is jarringly warm in the late evening).

I took a few snapshots of the lake and surrounding area. Check them out:

Sparkles on the water

Boats

Gazebo

Lovely Neighborhood

Today has been a lazy day. We awoke bright and early at 7, prepared some breakfast and tea and, after consuming them, fell asleep again until 13:00. I’d say that the jet lag hasn’t hit me so much as the exhaustion from travel, but we shall see. But, so far, things are positively wonderful here.

About ellucake

I'm an American woman in my mid-twenties spending two months in Finland. This blog will chronicle my trip.
This entry was posted in Food, Lappeenranta. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment